Serving children from the New Haven, CT community on the campus of The Foote School

Laura Altshul Joy of Learning Fund

Laura Altshul was a lifelong educator and advocate for educational equity. For 20 years, she brought excitement and creativity to the lives of countless kindergartners at the Foote School, helping them discover a love of reading and a thirst to learn. Laura walked the walk; she felt strongly that that love should be shared with students throughout New Haven, no matter their circumstances. In 1996, together with her colleague, Saylor Heidmann, she co-founded FooteBridge, the literacy program that would become Horizons at Foote in 2014. As our founding Board Chair, Laura led Horizons with grace, strength, and an aspiration to give back to her community.

Many of Laura’s friends, family, neighbors, students, colleagues and allies have chosen to honor her legacy by supporting Horizons at Foote. These gifts, and those given in her honor to Raise Every Voice in 2022, establish this multi-year restricted fund.

Donors to the Laura Altshul Joy of Learning Fund

Jody Abzug and Jim Irzyk
Ben Allison
Charlotte Anastasio
Kimberley Anderson
Stephen L. Altshul Foundation*
Bethany [Schowalter] Appleby and Nicholas Appleby
Diane Ariker
Evelyn Atreya
Patricia and Andrew Balter
Alice Bers and John Baick
Megan Belt
Susan and Victor Bers
Judy Brennan
Mary Jo Brownell
Linda Burt
Jeannette Byers
MaryBeth and Andrew Calderoni
Amy Caplan
Belinda Chen
Annie Clark
Constance Clement
Connecticut Poetry Society
Dody Osborne Cox and Jay Cox
Peter and Lucy Cox
Bobby Alter and Lisa de Lima
Bill and Jane Dennett
Elaine Dove
Jackie Downing
Ray Fair
Dawn Farricielli
Lynn and Rich Gabbard
Jack and Harriet Fast
Edith Flagg
Terry S. Flagg
William and Deborah Friedman
Patricia and Anthony Fusco
Lynn and Rich Gabbard
Frank and Mary Gerlach
Charles and Maria Granquist
Bill Graustein
Daniel Leventhal and Lindsey Grieve
Saylor Heidmann
Ann Coleen Hellerman
Cathryn Hendon
Ruth Hoberman
Ali Hokin and Glenn Levin

Susan Kerley
Camille Brown Koff and Jon Koff
Cathy Moon Holinger
Andrew McLaren and Francie Irvine
Nick and Jean Lamont
Patty Langdon
John Leventhal and Beverly Hodgson
Richard and Jane Levin
Yaminette Diaz Linhart and David Linhart
Ellen Liquindoli
Christine Lovejoy
Christina and Kenneth MacLean
Hugh and Nancy Manke
Marc and Margaret Mann
Wendy Marans
Roslyn Milstein Meyer and Jerome Meyer Foundation*
Araceli Moreno
Cheryl and Geoff Nadzam
Sara Ohly
Anne Olcott
Gregory Pepe and Ann Baker Pepe
Carol and Wesley Poling
Carolyn Post
Paula and Richard Resch
Barry and Joan Richter*
Helen Riviere
RJ Julia Booksellers
The Sassafras Foundation*
Catherine and Robert Sbriglio
Schleifer Family Foundation
The Seedlings Foundation*
Jimmy and Barbara Segaloff
Elizabeth Sledge
Harold Spitzer
Ginger Stevens May
David and Lisa Totman
Peter Ulisse and Sheila Anderson
Erika Villa
Charles and Dinny Wakerley
Bonnie Welch
Betty and Jim Whitney
Annie Woodhull
Nancy Worms
Marc and Jan Zuckerman
Yale Medicine

*These partners established the original Laura Altshul Raise Every Voice Fund in her honor by sponsoring our first Raise Every Voice event in April 2022.

If you would like to make a gift to the Laura Altshul Joy of Learning Fund, click here or mail a check made out to "Horizons at the Foote School" to Horizons at Foote ATTN: Christina MacLean, 50 Loomis Place, New Haven CT 06511, including the name of the fund in your letter or check memo.